James W. Strutt Memorial Scholarship Recipient 2015

Melissa Wong

Image of Student Submission
Render of Vertical Wetland, by Melissa Wong

The JWSMS is awarded by a committee of equal representatives from the Fondation STRUTT Foundation and faculty of the Azrielli School of Architecture at Carleton University.

It was the most consistent exploration of integrated surface, form and program, used to create a sophisticated ‘romantic vision’ of connected geometries that won the unanimous agreement of the jury. A layered and complex project that juxtaposes the relationships between the built and natural world, and using geometry imaginatively expresses our ability to simultaneously ‘build on’ and ‘reclaim’ nature, all while being dynamic in both form and function.

The 2015 recipient of the James W. Strutt Memorial Award in Geometric Form & Function is Melissa Wong, for Seagrass Offices and Vertical Wetland Storage.

Honorable Mentions: Laura Amadi and Sam Smallwood.